The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Oct. 17/2020: i before e, expect after c!

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “a word you have to look up.” We all have words we can never spell.

I had the privilege to attend college in 2004 for the first time since High School, so some 20 years later. I was not brushed up, and stellar in many areas. Math was, and always will be my nemesis. We just don’t see eye to eye. I did however get placed in a an English 99 class, which I could have thought this is so beyond me. Come on I am better than basic grammar, but in all honesty I was not. I needed a lot of brushing up. I have a deep appreciation I placed in that class to begin my college education. It later led to English 101.

So now today I am to pick a word I usually have to look up to see if I have spelled it right. I am actually a pretty good speller. If I were to just to pick a word on the fly it probably is some of the i before e, except after c words. That being said often I will look to make sure I spell receipt right. That little saying is a great rule of thumb, and when spelling out these words I do find myself thinking it inside my head. Sometimes even speaking it out loud.

I am grateful for the little grammar sayings given to us to help us along with words that are often misspelled. That class helped me with the proper use of their, they’re, and there. As well you’re, and your. Another great one is to, too, and two. Simple maybe, but these are some of the most often misused words in any given grammar writing.

So I could have been all bent at the age of 40 to be placed in such a basic English class, like it was beneath me. Especially with years of writing under my belt. It really helped me though, and I think I benefited greatly from being in it.

Because you know a, e, i, o, u, and sometimes y. Just thought I would throw that one in. Now I will upload this post to make sure I have receipt of writing it. Ha, see I misspelled it right then. Had to say i, before e, except after c.

https://lindaghill.com/2020/10/16/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-oct-17-2020/

11 thoughts on “The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS Oct. 17/2020: i before e, expect after c!

    1. Well I realized how much really needed it once I was in it. I figure I am a work in progress until the day I die. I would be a fool to think I have got this life all figured out. I appreciate your kindness to me, you’ve always been a kind warning presence! 😊👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, we are works in progress. It feels good to know you have felt my kindness. You have inspired me with your enthusiasm for life.

        Like

    1. I always say that little saying to help me, and often still spell it wrong. My phone automatically corrects it for me. Word are weird. Thus my blog name weirds are word 😄

      Like

Leave a comment